Now you can view this blog on your mobile phones! Give a try.

Saturday, March 28, 2015

A brief overview of the history of the Mathematics department at Bangalore University.

The Department of Mathematics at the Central College Campus of Bangalore University has a history of over 120 years. The current chairman is Prof. Pradeep Siddeshwar, an active researcher in Fluid Mechanics.
  The department has also been afforded other lumiaries like C.N.S. Iyengar who has contributed extensively to the field of Differential and Riemannian Geometry, while at Bangalore University. Iyengar received a D.Sc. (c.c) from Calcutta University, Calcutta.Iyengar wrote a book The History of Ancient Indian Mathematics (1967 - World Press)
Presently. Prof H.G.Nagaraja and the recently retired Prof Y.B.Maralabavi are also working in Differential Geometry. It is to be noted that Prof C S Aravinda, now at TIFR-CAM, Bangalore is also an alumni of this Department and actively engaged in research in Riemannian Geometry. Prof.K.Harinath was another great name in the field of Abstract Algebra and a former chairman of the Department.
  The Department also has an offshoot centre for research in Fluid Mechanics which was started by Prof.Rudraiah, an eminent researcher and formerly the Vice-Chancellor of Bangalore University and also Gulbarga University. Other names include Prof.M.Venkatachala.

Vishesh Bhat,
Christ University.

No comments: