Now you can view this blog on your mobile phones! Give a try.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

History of Physics Department:

Tumkur University was established in 2004 in Tumkur, Karnataka, India. It was carved out of Bangalore University to accommodate the needs of the students from Tumkur district. Established under the Karnataka State Universities Act, 2000, as a multi-faculty university,

Tumkur University was previously known as The University College of Science (erstwhile Government Science College) was established in 1940. Beginning as an intermediate college, it was upgraded to a full-fledged First Grade college with Bachelors courses in various disciplines in BSc courses in different combinations such as PCM, PMG etc. were introduced.

In 2008, the Post Graduate courses were introduced in Physics, 'Prof. CNR Centre for Advanced Materials', an ambitious project was started in 2009, after which the research work has accelerated.  Under this institution many research projects are taking place in the department of physics sponsored by many government organizations such as DST, CSIR etc.

Suman G. R.


No comments: