Now you can view this blog on your mobile phones! Give a try.

Saturday, March 28, 2015

History of Physics in Mysore University.

History of Physics department, Mysore University

The University of Mysore (Manasagangothri) is a public state university located in Mysore, Karnataka, India. The university became the first outside of the Britain administration in India, the sixth in India as a whole, and the first in Karnataka. It is a state university of the affiliating type, and became autonomous on March 3, 1956, when it gained recognition from the University Grants Commission. In addition, the university has 37 postgraduate departments, eight specialized research and training centers, and two postgraduate centers that together offer a total of about 55 regular academic programs to 3,500 students.

As of July 2013, the University of Mysore was accredited "Grade A" by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), while its academic staff was ranked amongst the top 5 across India.

The Department of Physics was established in the campus of the University of Mysore. The beginning as a small department offering only an M.Sc. course in one special subject, Spectroscopy, today it is offering both Master's and Doctoral programs covering one or more aspects of Physics. The Department has been identified as a Department of Advanced Studies by the Government of Karnataka. The performance of the Department under the DST funded FIST program has been rated Good.

It was one of the first few university departments in the country selected under the University Leadership Project of the UGC to take up the College Science Improvement Program (COSIP) in Physics. This program stretched over a period of ten years during which the undergraduate physics curricula and teaching were modernised. In 1995, the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, set up a National Single Crystal Diffractometer Facility to cater to the XRD data needs of crystal structure related researchers in this department and other universities/Institutes/Laboratories/Industries. The department is also funded under SAP. As per the Web of Science, USA, University of Mysore ranks sixth in the country based on the number of publications in peer reviewed journals. The major contribution for this is from Physics.

The faculty have about 918 research publications in refereed journals. It has more than 250 research reports presented in various National/International Conferences/Symposia/Seminars. So far more than 120 Ph.D. candidates have been successfully guided by the faculty of this department.

It has build a number of groups such as: Atmospheric Physics that focuses on Aerosol Climatology and MWR Studies, Atmospheric Electrical Conductivity. Condensed Matter Physics dealing with X-ray crystallography of medicinally important class of compounds, Liquid Crystals,WAXS, SAXS on silk fibres, Environmental Radiation doing Radon / Thoron Studies. Nuclear Physics that explores X-ray and gamma ray interactions with matter, Positron Annihilation Studies in Polymers. Also, the Theoretical Physics that deals with General Relativity, Lorentz Group. It conducts several tutorials, seminars, student projects and lectures by experts from other institutes and universities.

Faculty of physics department are honored and awarded in their fields of interest.

Prof. C. Ranganathaiah has been a Post Doctoral Fellow at Australia, NASA fellow, USA and visited France as a visiting scientist. Prof. R. Somashekar has won a Young Scientist Award for the year 1986, has enjoyed the position of Research Associate, UMIST-Manchester, U K and visited JSPS- Japan as a visiting professor. Prof. M.A. Sridhar is awarded Sir C.V. Raman Award.

As per the Web of Science, USA, University of Mysore ranks sixth in the country based on the number of publications in peer reviewed journals. The major contribution for this is from Physics Department.

Physics Department has been chosen to be the nodal centre for the India based Neutrino Observatory (INO) Project. ISRO has sanctioned Rs.25 lakhs to offer Atmospheric Physics as an elective subject to their M.Sc students. Department has also received Infrastructure grants of Rs 20 lakhs as an SAP funded department from UGC. Recently, the department is introducing courses in emerging fields like astrophysics. In this regard, department has installed an optical telescope and is conducting public sky watches during special occasions like lunar eclipse, occultations and transits. Towards the development several workshops and national and state level seminars will be conducted every semester.

Eminent Scientist and Faculty of the department.

Shivaramakrishnan Pancharatnam (1934–1969) was an Indian physicist, noted for his discovery of a type of geometric phase sometimes known as Pancharatnam phase for polarized beams passing through crystals.

Sivaramakrishna Chandrasekhar (1961–1971) was an Indian physicist who won the Royal Medal in 1994. He served as the first Head of the Department of Physics, which had just been started in the University of Mysore at Mysore.

Dr. Arakali Venu Gopala Rao (1968–2007). His field of interest is in General Relativity, Groups and Polarisation Optics.

Dr. Dharmaraja Krishnamurti (1961–1989), Dr. Mysore Srinivasamurthy Madhava (1969–2001), Dr. Bidare Narasimhamurthy (1970–2000), Dr. Panditputtaiah Venkataramaiah (1972-1997)

Allumni of the department.

Poornachandra tejaswi, an eminent literateur is an allumni of the department.

Nagavara Ramarao Narayana Murthy CBE commonly referred to as Narayana Murthy, is an Indian IT industrialist and the co-founder of Infosys, a multinational corporation providing business consulting, technology, engineering, and outsourcing services. Murthy studied electrical engineering at the National Institute of Engineering, University of Mysore, and M. Tech at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.

Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao, FRS, also known as C.N.R. Rao, is an Indian chemist who has worked mainly in solid-state and structural chemistry. DSc from Mysore University in 1961.

Recent Activities:

Presently, the department is organizing sky watches every month on the weekends to impart interest among students in astrophysics. Also, they conduct state and national level seminars and workshops in astrophysics to encourage cutting edge research. The current specializations offered in M.Sc. are Nuclear Physics, Theoretical physics and Condensed matter physics.

-Ayesha Anjum [1445203]

No comments: